New California Child Seat Law
As of January 1, 2012 booster seats for children under 8 years old or who are under 4 feet 9 inches tall is required. The previous California law stated that booster seats or car sets for children under 60 pounds or 6 years old.
The belief is that when children can sit on a regular car seat with knees bent sitting up straight they no longer require a special seat.
The purpose is to protect children in case of a car accident.
Failure to comply with this law will result in fines ranging at $475 and possibly more.
Be sure to ensure that you have the proper equipment in your car to protect the little ones.
For more information or to verify the requirements you can go online at www.cdph.ca.gov/vosp.
Filed under: Community Events
Like this post? Subscribe to my RSS feed and get loads more!